Q: What happens when a fighter is knocked down?
A: The “ten-count” was originally introduced to boxing as “the gentleman’s rule” as in never hitting an opponent while he’s down. When an opponent gets knocked down, the ref sends the other fighter to a neutral WHITE corner (where he can’t get coached) and gives the downed fighter 10 seconds to get back up on his feet. If he’s up by 10, the ref checks him over one last time (looking at his overall health, eyes, balance) and wipes his gloves before letting the fight continue. If he doesn’t get up by 10, the fight is waved off and a KNOCKOUT victory is declared for the other fighter.
Nowadays the 10 count is enforced unevenly depending on who is getting knocked down. If the visiting fighter is downed, the count starts immediately when he hits the canvas and refs are often quick to wave him off even when he gets up. They’ll claim, “I saw it in his eyes. He looked out of it.”
But when the home fighter is knocked down, the ref takes his time sending the visiting fighter to the neutral corner before issuing a slow 10-count. Then when the home fighter gets up, the ref gives him extra seconds by asking him if he’s ready to continue (sometimes even holding him up), also wiping his gloves, and then finally letting the fight resume.
Hey, information shared by you if very informative. Are you looking for any website where you can get your assignment prepared in a perfect way? This is the best website https://writemydissertationforme.co.uk/ where you can your work is done. The dissertations available on this website are reliable and cost-effective.
The description in the article appears to be a little biased. The special treatment home town fighters receive may be true in some cities, as a referee myself I would prefer an even playing field regardless of the opposition. The reason I make the comment that I’m about to make stems from questions presented to me after the Fury vs Wilder fight, did the referee allow Fury more time than was absolutely necessary after his initial knockdown. I was taught that the you start the count only after the offending boxer has returned to a neutral “white” corner and remained there, regardless of what the the ringside timekeeper has , however it is his job to initiate the count, then hand over the responsibility to the ref. These instructions that were given to both boxers prior to the fight. So in a nutshell was the ref being biased? I don’t think so.